Ten Major Gods and Goddesses of Hinduism (Infographic)

Musical, story-driven, colorful, and vibrant, Hinduism is one of the most prominent religions that influences and motivates many beyond the globe. There are various Hindu Gods and Goddesses who are worshiped in different styles and traditions. As a matter of fact, there are about 33 million Gods and Goddesses in total.

In Hinduism, the numerous gods and goddesses are known as Deva and Devi, who mainly represents one or more aspects of Brahman’s. Many of the Hindu Gods and Goddesses are just a reincarnation of another, and each of the God and Goddesses have different abilities and legends.

Since there are numerous Gods and Goddesses of Hinduism, but there are a few of them, you are majorly worshiped across the Hindus. So, in this article, we will let you know about the Ten Major Gods and Goddesses of Hinduism. From Vishnu God to Shiva, all the Hindu Gods are worshiped in every Hindu family with love and devotion.

The ten major God and Goddesses of Hinduism are as follows:


Lord Brahma is the first god of the popular Hindu trinity and is known as the deity of creation. The trinity is Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahesh (Shiva). Brahma holds the complete creation and all of its related creatures. Lord Brahma reminds us of the cycle of birth and death. We all are born from Lord Brahma and then we return back to Brahma. As the deity of creation, Lord Brahma also represents and exemplifies intellect and mind.


Vishnu god is the second god of the popular Hindu trinity, and he is known as the Preserver and Saviour of life. Lord Vishnu sustains life through his adherence to order, principle, truth, and righteousness. The responsibility of Vishnu God is to balance and order. He inspires his admirers and followers to manifest or show compassion and kindness to all the creatures. This Hindu God is a more abstract deity in comparison to all those who command atop the natural existing world. He is depicted with four arms, which represent his omnipotence and omnipresence.

Mahesh (Shiva)

The final and the third god of the popular Hindu trinity is Mahesh or Lord Shiva, who is also called as The Destroyer of All Our Bad Sins. Lord Shiva guards his admirers and followers from lust, anger, and greed. He protects and guards them against ignorance and illusion. This Hindu God is also observed to be in charge of the death, dismantling to bring new life and rebirth. Lord Shiva is represented by a snake round the neck, which mainly represents Kundalini.


Lord Ganesha is also known as Ganapati or the elephant god. He is one of the most important Hindu gods who is worshiped in the first place while performing any ritual or puja. He is the second son of Goddess Parvati and Lord Shiva. Mushak, the mouse, is his vehicle. Lord Ganesha is associated with Mars or Mangal, and good luck. He is the God who removes hurdles to good fortune and success.


Goddess Saraswati is the deity of wisdom, music, learning, and aesthetics of Hinduism. As Vac, Saraswati is the Goddess of speech. Saraswati Puja is a widely celebrated festival of her, which is celebrated in the spring season. According to Hindu mythology, Goddess Saraswati is the wife of Lord Brahma, and according to some traditions, she was the first wife of Lord Vishnu.


Goddess Parvati is a benevolent goddess and is the wife of Lord Shiva. Born the daughter of a mountain named as Himalaya, Goddess Parvati won the affection of Lord Shiva only after undergoing severe discipline. Mostly seen as a mindful and delicate form of mother, Parvati is the deity of love, fertility, marriage with divine supremacy, and quality.


Goddess Lakshmi is the consort of Lord Vishnu, the Protector. She is seen dressed in red, which represents the Rajasic Tattva. The Goddess Lakshmi is hailed as the Goddess’s prosperity and wealth. The pictorial depiction of Goddess Lakshmi shows her with four hands. She holds a lotus in the upper right and upper left hands. And in the left hand, she holds a Kalash, which is filled with gold coins inclined frontward.


Goddess Kali is also known as Kali Ma. She is possibly the most misunderstood and fiercest Hindu deities. She is also called as Dark Mother across Hindus. Kali Ma or goddess kali is the wife of Lord Shiva. Kali Ma’s intense feminine energy and shakti transcend the modern viewpoint of good vs evil. Goddess Kali is depicted with a tongue jutting out of her mouth, a skirt of bones, and a garland of skulls. This symbolizes the end and expiration of self-esteem and ego.


Goddess Durga is an essential representation Of the Divine Mother, who is also known as “The Invincible.” Goddess Durga is the Goddess of leadership, warrior, and strength. Durga protects oneself from the forces of jealousy, hatred, and prejudice. Goddess Durga is represented with eight arms holding a multitudinous of weapons. This shows that she protects mankind in every direction of this world.


Lord Kartikeya is also known as Kumar, and he is the warrior god. He is the first son of Goddess Parvati and Lord Shiva. The primary objective of the birth of Kumar Kartikeya was to kill the demon Tarkasur. Due to his courage and skill, Lord Kartikeya was offered the position of King of heaven. Peacock is the vehicle of Kumar Kartikeya. He is the much-revered Hindu deity in South India and is worshipped as the deity of war and victory.

The Bottom Line

So, here you came down to the bottom line of Ten Major God and Goddesses of Hinduism. While thousands of Gods and Goddesses are recognized, but some of them are deemed more important than others on the basis of their powers and what they exactly represent. From all the above-mentioned gods and Goddesses, the three most important gods are called Trimurti that comprises of Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahesh (Shiva). The supreme prominence of all these deities is due to their significant roles in the creation, preservation, and destruction of the whole universe.

via capturednation.com

Ten Major Gods and Goddesses of Hinduism